Aero Design X-cellence –from Jurrien

by Asymmetrical Saab

In 2006 Saab launched the Aero X, the most beautiful, but approachable, concept car I have seen in the past 20 years. As an industrial designer currently specializing in finishes, I was mesmerized when I first tripped over it in the car and design blogs.

I swiped a pile of the images for inspiration, and in all this time it has still not lost its magic. I am still amazed by the beauty of this form whenever I browse through my image bank and scroll over images of the Aero. Of course, like every concept car, it has its gimmicks. The floating roof, in particular, is a little too weird. But beyond this criticism, the lines of the Aero X are stunningly in balance. I anticipate they will continue to inspire my work for a very long time.

